Book Review: Illuminae

DSC_0295

OHMYGOSH THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING!

The synopsis for Illuminae:

“This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do today. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra – who are barely even talking to each other – are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But the warship is the least of their problems. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results. The fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

BRIEFING NOTE: Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents – including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more – Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.”

I’m not usually into Science Fiction stories, but I had heard so many good things about this book, that I had to give it a try. AND I LOVED IT.

First of all, the layout/style of the pages are amazing. There’s no chapters, it’s all emails, IMs, etc; which makes this a book that you can read through pretty quickly. The pages are absolutely gorgeous, it is so visually pleasing; if you’re going to read this book, make sure you get the physical copy!

Second of all, this story was just fantastic. It is so interesting and I’ve never read anything like it. There’s something in it for everyone: action, adventure, romance, sci-fi, stories of deceit, and one of the most badass literary heroines I’ve ever read about. I had such a hard time putting this down, there were new twists and turns every time I turned the page.

This story makes me really thankful that we aren’t living in a time where regular humans are casually living in space on giant space stations, “Zenon: Girl of the 21st Century” style. Also, artificial intelligence is freaking scary as hell.

Since this was my first experience with Sci-Fi, and it went so well, I’m going to make more of an effort to read more of this genre! If you have any recommendation, be sure to drop them in the comments!

This is, by far, the best book I’ve read this year! I can’t wait to read the sequel and see where this story goes!

Rating: 5/5

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Illuminae

  1. This has been one of my favourtie sci-fi novels – the sequel Gemina is just as good… and I can’t wait for Obisdio to be released! Such an involved and original story – I love haw there is so much going on – it like fireworks going off i my brain. The collection of hacked documents is a unique way for telling a story too – with all the first and third person perspective in novels out there, this was a breath of fresh air! Glad you enjoyed it – looking forward to seeing how you feel about Gemina. 🙂

    Like

    • I agree! As a person who usually reads Contemporary YA, this was just what I needed to get me out of my reading slump. It’s so different and special from anything I’ve read. My copy of Gemina just arrived, and I’m so excited to get started on it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

