Book Review: The Sun is Also a Star

 

DSC_0230 (2)

I received an ARC of this book over the summer when I won a contest at Barnes & Noble. It was trivia night for their teen book festival, B-Fest, and my prize was that I would receive advanced copies of books in the mail throughout the year. 

I just finished reading The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon, and it did not disappoint. I was so excited to read this book because Nicola’s first book, Everything Everything, was one of my favorite books that I read last year. Her writing is so beautiful, and she has quickly become one of my favorite authors.

The synopsis for The Sun is Also a Star:

“Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported back to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think fate has something much more extraordinary in store-for both of us.”

This story follows Natasha and Daniel through the course of one day. They meet on the worst day possible, hours before Natasha and her family are to be deported back to Jamaica, and hours before Daniel has an interview that could secure his future. When they meet, they have instant chemistry. Natasha is a realist who believes in facts and science, Daniel is a hopeless romantic, and bets her that he can scientifically get her to fall in love with him.

Okay, this story was amazing and I did not want to put this book down! Natasha and Daniel are underdogs, and underdog stories are the ones that I love most. I just really wanted things to work out for these two and for them to have a happy ending. Also, I was able to connect with both of them because I see the traits of dreamer and realist in myself.

With the topics of deportation and immigration being featured heavily in this book, I feel like this this such an important story for this day and age. Everyone should read this to gain a better understanding of what immigrants have to go through, and that they’re just trying to make a better life for themselves and their families.

Something else I really loved about this book was the writing style/layout. The chapters are super short, which I LOVE SO MUCH. Seriously, I will love a book so much more and read it so much faster if the chapters are short. Ridiculously long chapters are one of my biggest peeves, and it’s difficult for me to get through those kinds of books. I also liked how there were short stories about minor characters spread throughout the book. It connected the characters in a way that I usually don’t find in books.

The only reason I’m not giving this a 5 star rating is because I didn’t feel as satisfied when I finished this book as when I finished Yoon’s previous novel. Don’t get me wrong, this book was great, but the ending was not what I was hoping for.

Favorite line: “We have big, beautiful brains. We invent things that fly. Fly. We write poetry. You probably hate poetry, but its hard to argue with ‘Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? Thou art lovely and more temperate’ in terms of sheer beauty. We are capable of big lives. A big history. Why settle? Why choose the practical thing, the mundane thing? We are born to dream and make the things we dream about.”

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

