Book Review: The Unexpected Everything

One thing I planned on doing when I created this blog was publishing book reviews. I have been a bookworm basically since I was old enough to understand what books were. Books and reading hold such a special place in my heart, and when I find a book that I love, I always try to push it onto my friends so that we can discuss it. I love giving and getting recommendations for new reads, so that’s why I wanted to add this aspect to my blog. My favorite genre is Contemporary Young Adult but I will throw the occasional fantasy or nonfiction into the mix. So, here it is, my first book review! Hope you enjoy!

DSC_0224 (2)

Recently, I finished reading the book “The Unexpected Everything”, by Morgan Matson. I have read two of Morgan’s other books, “Since You’ve Been Gone” and “Second Chance Summer”, and really enjoyed them. This book was released back in May, but since I had about a million books on my shelves that I still hadn’t read, and was quite broke, I decided to wait until I could get this one as a Christmas present.

The synopsis on the inside cover reads:

“Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks). But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing-if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?”

This book follows Andie Walker and her unexpected summer. It all starts when her dad’s scandal drastically changes her summer plans, and she gets a job as a dog walker. Then, she meets fantasy writer, Clark (WHO IS A TOTAL DREAMBOAT BTW), and the story chronicles their summer together.

A story that includes cute boys and cute dogs? SIGN ME UP.

I’ll be honest though, it took me a while to get into this book. I started reading it at the beginning of February, and read about 120 pages over the next week. Then, I just had to put it down. I’m not sure if it was the book, or if I was in a reading slump, but I was just not into it. Although judging by other ratings and reviews on Goodreads, other readers felt the same way I did. I didn’t pick it up again for another month. After I forced myself to start reading again, I got really into it and finished the book within two days.

At the beginning, I was not a fan of the main character, Andie. I didn’t connect with her, she was just really stuck up and annoying. After those first hundred pages or so, she starts to turn around and becomes much more likable. As we learn more about Andie’s backstory, you understand why she acts the way she does, and you really start to feel for her.

I LOVED Clark. He’s a writer, creative, sensitive, nerdy, gorgeous, and gets along with Andie’s friends and father. He is the very definition of boyfriend goals, and my dream man.

I’m a sucker for good father/daughter relationships because I’m close with my dad, so I also really loved the dynamic between Andie and her dad. Their relationship goes from begin so estranged to pretty strong, and it was so heartwarming and fulfilling to watch their relationship grow.

This is probably my least favorite book of Morgan Matson’s, but I still really loved it! If you’re looking for a cute, fairly easy summer read, then definitely pick this one up. If you do start reading this and find yourself struggling to get through the beginning, keep going! I promise, it’s worth it.

Rating: 4/5

Leave a Reply

